Book Spotlight: Bruised by Stacy-Deanne #ASMSG

SD_Bruised_453x680

What do you get when you pair a feisty heroine fighting her demons from a previous relationship of domestic violence, and a romantic hero in a wheelchair looking for someone to rescue?
About Bruised (Book 1):
When Baltimore Homicide Detective Lisa Swanson and her partner Dee Quarter are called to investigate the murder of Ernest Juarez, Lisa meets wheelchair bound Jake Jenson, a man determined to find his best friend’s killer at all costs. Jake is instantly attracted to the standoffish Lisa yet can’t understand why Lisa keeps him at arm’s length.
What Jake feels is resistance toward him, is really Lisa’s distrust of men caused by a previous relationship centered on domestic violence. Lisa desperately searches for Ernest’s killer while fighting her feelings for Jake and trying to mend the pain from her past.
Jake just might be the man of Lisa’s dreams, but will she let shame and fear stand in the way of a new love?
(Available now)
Excerpt:
“Why are you always sniffing me?” She picked up the photo of Jake standing in a tuxedo with a petite blonde-haired woman.
“Why are you always wearing that perfume?”
“Wow.” Lisa moved her hand over Jake and the blonde woman. “You look so different standing. I didn’t realize you were so tall.”
“I’m six-three.”
Mmm.
“I know this sounds ridiculous but seeing this picture of you is so weird. I mean, I only know you from the chair.” She stared at the photo. “I guess I never pictured how you would look standing and walking.”
“Does seeing that picture make you see me differently?”
“No, it just…” Her heart fluttered. “It’s just—”
“Arousing?” he whispered. “To see me standing? To see me in a position of strength opposed to being a cripple?”
“You’re not a cripple. I’ve never thought of you like that.”
“Lisa.” He chuckled. “You’ve gotta get a sense of humor where I’m concerned.” He hit her thigh. “I’m just fucking with you. But seeing me standing does something to you, right?”
She swallowed. “Not the way you’re taking it.”
“Oh, I don’t know about that.” He parked his wheelchair against the bookshelf.
“What are you doing?”
He put one hand on the shelf and the other on his chair. “Ah.” He brought himself up.
“Jake.”
Oh, God, this is so arousing.
Just seeing Jake at full-height with that intense glare focused on her made her wetter than Niagara Falls.
He placed his feet firmly on the carpet. “Mmm.” He closed his eyes.
“Wait.” She set the picture down and grabbed him around the waist. “I don’t want you to fall and hurt yourself.”
“No, it’s okay.” He gently pushed her away. “I wanna show you.”
“You don’t have to show me anything.”
He took delicate steps. “I want…to show you that I’m a man.”
“Come on, this is silly. I know you’re a man.”
“But you like what you see in that picture, don’t you?” He inched toward her. “I see how you looked at that picture just now. I want you to look at me like that.”
“Jake.”
“See?” He chuckled between breaths. “I still got it.” He continued toward her.
“Please. I’m nervous you’ll hurt yourself.”
“It’s just a little pain.” He made it to her. “It’s worth it to see the look on your face.” He sniffed her neck. “To hold you and show you that I can do anything any man can. I just need a little more time to do it.”

Bruised (available NOW from Sugar and Spice Press)

Genre: Interracial Romantic Suspense

Publisher: Sugar and Spice Press

Buy Links:
Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/Bruised-Stacy-Deanne-ebook/dp/B00HQ0A9FI/ref=pd_sim_sbs_kstore_4
Nook: http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/bruised-interracial-romance-stacy-deanne/1117992088?ean=2940148275886
All Romance Ebooks: https://www.allromanceebooks.com/product-bruised-1389695-149.html
Bookstrand: http://www.bookstrand.com/bruised-1

Look for Captivated (Book 2) coming March 1, 2014!

1Captivated

 

 

 

 

 

 

1Stacy

 

 

Stacy’s Official Site: http://www.stacy-deanne.net
Facebook: http://tiny.cc/aqx43
Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/stacydeanne
Mailing List: http://www.stacy-deanne.net/newsletter.htm?newsletter=