Alana Munro, author of Women Behaving Badly – Exposing the Truth about Female Friendship.

 Today I welcome Alana Munro, author of Women Behaving Badly – Exposing the Truth about Female Friendship.

 

What makes you tick?

My family. I have three sons, a husband and a puppy. They are my world. If they are happy, I am happy.

What inspired you to write your first book?

Personal experiences. I had sadly experienced an enormous amount of bad luck and let downs from female friends. Instead of feeling bitter and negative, I felt the best way forward was to share my experiences and hopefully help other women avoid my mistakes.

Do you have a specific writing style?

I’ve been told I write as though I am sitting talking to you over a coffee or perhaps a bottle of wine. Did I really just write that? Oops!

You did! So let’s go, what’s your guilty pleasure?

Red wine, cheese, crisps, chocolate. All bad for the waistline but so nice!

What do you like to read in your spare time?

Anything inspirational to really get me thinking. I always seem to go to non-fictional books. I seem to like reality.

Tell me something that others would be surprised to know about you.

I gave birth on my bedroom floor. I didn’t mean to. It just happened so quickly. Oh dear! Thankfully baby was okay and I have just about recovered from the shock.

Is there anyone else besides you in your family who write?

Nope. I’m the only one crazy enough to pursue writing as a career.

Hey! I wouldn’t call it crazy! lol

Now, about your book:

What were the challenges in bringing it to life?

I found the book incredibly emotional to write as it comes from my own personal life. I cried a lot! It was challenging to get all the stories out as I had tried to forget. Then I spent a great deal of time trying to ‘make sense’ of the behaviours and ask why would a woman treat another woman so badly? I really wanted to understand what was going on behind the jealousy, the competition and the power games.

The title is catchy! How did you come up with it?

My husband liked ‘Wifie Wars’ but I went with Women Behaving Badly. It just sounded easy to remember, although I did giggle at my husband’s idea.

Are these experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

The book is packed full of my own personal stories, many are pretty dark, painful tales of how cruel women have behaved towards me throughout my life. And some tales are just ridiculous. I can’t even believe they actually happened but they did!

Personal stories are more interesting!! Tell me about are your current/future projects?

I am busy running Support-a-Writer over on Google +. My community is a brilliant group of writers, poets and bloggers all coming together. I started it to make ‘connections’ as writing is lonely at times. It has been a great success. I’ve made so many lovely friends and we really do try our best to support each other. It’s amazing to see all these people connecting and benefiting from my community.

I am also trying to write my second book but I am struggling to find the time. I am just so busy with marketing Women Behaving Badly, running my community online, writing for my blog and writing for other websites. I need to figure out a good book writing schedule!

I can relate to trying to balance writing and marketing. Any parting words?

 Here’s my debut book, it is going very well and receiving excellent reviews. It can be purchased on Amazon and many other online stores.

Website: http://alanamunroauthor.com

Buy here: Amazon UK and Amazon USA

Twitter: AMauthor

Join us on Google+: Support-a-Writer

 

8 thoughts on “Alana Munro, author of Women Behaving Badly – Exposing the Truth about Female Friendship.

Leave a Reply

