Author Allie Jean visits the Via Linden Lounge!

Welcome to the Via Linden Lounge! Today I chat with my author pal Allie Jean and discuss her book Dreams of the Cursed


 

I have to start with your title. Can you explain the inspiration behind it?

The title relates to one of the characters in the book. Since the female characters in my stories suffer from horrific, prophetic nightmares, the series is entitled The Dreamer Series. The person who is “cursed” is a new character to the series, and I think fans will find her to be very powerful indeed.

Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

The power of divinity, the importance of grace, and the role of responsibility for every person on this earth. We all have a purpose, big or small. And that women can be bad-ass warriors, too.

I like that! Are these experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

The nightmares featured in my books are based on some I’d had when I was young, so yes. Also, the male lead, Mathias, is loosely based on an imaginary friend I had who’d visit me at night so I’d feel safe to sleep.

Wow, that’s a little scarey! Is there a scene that stands out for you?

There’s a huge secret that is revealed in book #2 that I love, love, love. And Mathias and Chantal have a few heavy moments as well. But in book #1 (Legacy of a Dreamer), I have to say that when Chantal discovers who she is and what her purpose is, the imagery is very powerful and was a blast to write.

If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

In my latest, not as of now. My first… yes

What was the hardest part of writing this book?

Trying to balance the various personalities and not let the writing get away with me so that I take one of them out of character. Sometimes I get passionate, especially with an action scene, that I start having the girls yell out things I would say when I’m leveling a six foot dude onto the concrete floor. LOL. Then I have to go back and say, “I really down think Chantal would us an f-bomb here.” LOL

Lol! It is hard to keep yourself out of the mix! Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

Get it done early so you have enough time to proofread before deadline. One to two weeks I think is ideal. I tend to be the hour-before-deadline kinda girl . . . :/

Oh, I can soooo relate to that! Were there any other challenges in bringing it to life?

My book doesn’t favor one particular religion but the metaphysical plays a huge roll. I think staying true to the legend of the Fallen Angels and what their purpose had been before the fall has been a challenge.

What inspired you to write your first book?

I actually got back into writing after a death in the family. I used writing as a way to escape, to cope.

Interesting. Tell us more about what makes you tick.

Hmmmm… I’d say a butt load of coffee and my four kids. At least they keep me moving. As for what keeps my brain ticking? A huge imagination and a wicked sense of humor.

Imagination is key! Would you say you have a specific writing style?

Every book I’ve written has been a bit different but I usually sort of outline the gist of how I want the story to go, then break it down into semi-clumps I like to call chapters-of-sorts, then write off of that. LOL. Things always seem to change once I set the proverbial pen to paper.

Name one entity that you feel supported you outside of family members.
My editor, Wyndy. She’s been amazing and so instrumental in getting me through this process. She’s helped me through a really tough time in my life and has held my hand as I’ve gone from a newbie writer to only a slightly bit better. LOL. She’s my writing rock!

Everyone needs a great support system. Do you see writing as a career?

I’d love for it to be a career. However, my RL job has to take the trophy for that title. I’m a RN in a local ICU. Long hours and heavy rewards, but I love it just as much.

What’s your guilty pleasure?

Reading . . . I love me an audiobook that I can fold laundry to or workout at the gym listening to. My bills don’t like it that much, though. Neither does the hubs.

Lol! Ok, well what kind of book do you read in your spare time?

EVERYTHING. LOL. I’m not big into historical fiction, but I read literally a bit of everything.

Tell me something that others would be surprised to know about you.

They are surprised I write. LOL. At least the people who know me in RL are when they find out. My fans would probably be surprised that I used both of my sisters as the cover models for my books.

That’s cool! Name the last book you read that really moved you.

I’m reading Unwind by Neal Shusterman right now. The battle over what constitutes a human life and the constant battles within us in regard to that is so powerfully depicted in this book. It’s so disturbing in some instances, but really makes the reader think about what we, as a society, have to potential to turn a blind eye to.

What are your current/future projects?

Dreams of the Cursed is set to release in October of this year. And the third installment should follow in 2014. I have a few short stories in the works as well.

Can you share a little us?

Dreams of the Cursed, book #2 of the Dreamer series, follows Chantal Breelan further into the rabbit hole as she learns more about her legacy and fights those who want to 29f74-legacydreamerpbcoverkeep her power for themselves. Now, Chantal has picked up the reigns of her birthright and stands by her Warrior kin. She’s on a mission to rescue others like herself. Yet in this challenge a battle of wits is exposed. New players are discovered, throwing strategies into question. When the truth comes to light, can Chantal hold her band of brothers together, or will they crumble under the weight of betrayal?

Nice! Thanks for stopping by Allie! Be sure to come back when you release your next book! 

To find out more about Allie visit the links below:

Website: AllieJean.net
Buy here: http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/1612130402/ref=as_li_ss_il?ie=UTF8&camp=1789&creative=390957&creativeASIN=1612130402&linkCode=as2&tag=alljea-20
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/authoralliejean
Twitter: https://twitter.com/AllieJeanDS
Other: http://about.me/allie.jean

Leave a Reply

