Olivia Linden interviews Carlos Martinez author of The Eagle’s Journey!

Today I would like to welcome author Carlos Martinez to the lounge! 


Hi Carlos! Can you tell us a little about yourself?

CM: Well, I must say I derive joy from music, movies and writing. These are three forms in which I constantly communicate and share my life experiences.

Moreover, I enjoy nature and new places, as I am a devoted ecologist and love to travel.

What inspired you to write your first book?

CM: My first story was inspired by Eckhart Tolle, the author of “The power of now”, an amazing story which had a positive impact on my life and my writing career.

Is there a story behind the title for The Eagle’s Journey?

CM: The title is a teaser for my readers and it has to do with the book’s content.

My book is a transformational quest, a self discovery book for those in pursuit of happiness and I linked this action with a magnificent creature, the eagle. I invite you all to read the excerpt of my book, or better yet, to buy my book as you’ll enjoy a simple yet powerful book.

Sounds very moving! 

Here is an excerpt from The Eagle’s Journey:

Day 7

A SPECIAL INVITATION

We were now at the seventh day of this experience, and at last we had reached the rocky ditch, after an extensive trek along a path, that as we went up, it became more and more rocky and narrow, taking us away from the initial path. Despite this, it was as if nothing had started. Nothing. I kept asking myself, what was I doing in this moor, which we had reached, and me, exhausted, freezing cold, with the wind that wouldn’t stop blowing, furiously, fearlessly as if it were up against the world and we were its prize. At some point along the path, Peter said, he who insults the wind insults himself. I didn’t say a thing and I tried to be as calm as possible. After a while, as if understanding my purpose, Peter smiled pointing to the leaves, the twigs, saying that we had to learn from them, unavoidable friends of the wind. “Unavoidable” is what he said. And he added, upon taking some steps, some arduous steps up the slope “that the leaves, the twigs and even the grass had a responsibility to this friendship. This is why they are unavoidable to the wind, until the ultimate consequences. I became quiet, I was tired, worried and to add to it the wind and the dust that didn’t let me see, the clouds, getting thicker and darker, announcing one of those storms that you feel like being at home, in bed, rolled up in blankets, really warm. Peter stood against the wind and as if knowing what was happening to me, told me the place where we were. At last, I said to myself, at last this hike has ended! I stopped going round, fighting off the wind. I stood still; breathed deeply. Standing in the ditch which we had reached we could see the moor where we would set up camp; it looked intriguing, as if everything and the wind itself left its footprint to reveal itself in this immense green that didn’t stop stirring and involving this new landscape, so full of life with its long and restless stream zigzagging like the very devil’s tail. From the moor I could see a huge stone barrier that ascended from the esplanade where we were standing, with its plants growing from the rock unions, and just like that, facing the sunlight, nurtured from the humidity that flows from there. How wonderful! -I thought to myself “as if everything could be in agreement and be everything, as if everything followed its own path, and every path belonged to everything! I was absorbed just being there, when Peter told me that it was exactly here where, what we came to see happens, and something in me knew that this was so. At once, we started to put the cameras in strategic places to capture all the action, but maintaining a careful distance. We put a camera on top of a large tree full of branches. And when I say “we put” I mean to say Peter climbed up the large trunk and put it there. This man looks like a monkey- I thought ” subdued by the lightness of his movements. Peter indicated to put a couple of cameras tied to the smaller trees, and that I put another one between two big rocks. It was by no means an easy feat for me, with the wind at my face and then having it on my back.

Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

CM: I see writing as a gift of giving, therefore, I chose writing Self Discovery books as I truly believe I can bring a positive impact on people’s life by encouraging them to grow on a spiritual level. I believe this review captured the essence of my goal in writing this book, therefore I wanted to share his thought with your readers: “The author offers the reader the opportunity to learn the secret of a better life – the grace of being in the here and now.” (~Bogdan Vosloban, Freelance Journalist and Owner of Ned32News)

Are these experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

CM: My characters are based on real people that I have encountered during my lifetime. However, my characters are fictional, meaning that some of the experiences in the book are the result of my imagination.

What’s your favorite character in your book?

CM: My favorite character is Peter, an old yet very wise man who guides David, the main character towards a spiritual path, which will be his transformational quest, journey which will be spiced with deep impressions, beauty and adventures.

Do you have a specific writing style?

CM: I can’t say I have a specific writing style. This was my first release, so, maybe as I continue to develop my writing career, I will develop a specific writing style and writing quirks. Moreover, I don’t plan my story: I just let the action flow, as I consider this process more challenging and surprising. I believe that planning everything deprives the joy of the unknown.

What was the hardest part of writing your book?

CM: I found that publishing a book is a challenging process, filled with ups and downs, yet rewarding in the spiritual sense, as now I can say I have a written legacy – my first novel, and hopefully, not my last. During this process, I met a lot of talented individuals who helped me and for whom I am extremely grateful, as they helped me share my story with the rest of the world.

Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

CM: Writing this book became my therapy and I considered my first release a transformational quest for my own personal beliefs. I found that publishing a book is a challenging process, filled with ups and downs, yet rewarding in the spiritual sense, as now I can say I have a written legacy – my first novel, and hopefully, not my last. During this process, I met a lot of talented individuals who helped me and for whom I am extremely grateful, as they helped me share my story with the rest of the world.

If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

CM: Writing and publishing my fist book was an incredible journey thus, no, I might say, I wouldn’t change anything, as it was an amazing experience and enjoyed every moment of it.

Can you tell us what you’re currently working on?

CM: My latest and in the same time, my first release is a novel about self discovery. The spiritual journey my readers are invited to make is accompanied by the main characters of the novel, David and Peter, all along which allowed me, the author, to share with the public some life changing philosophies and ideas that have a great impact and challenged me as well as it will challenge them. The premise of the plot is a young man discovering how the journey of the life of an eagle mirrors his personal journey as he travels through manhood. The basis of action is the different trials and circumstances that interfere with Peter and David trying to capture footage of the eagle. David also struggles with living in the outdoors, while trying to learn all that he possibly can from Peter.

Do you feel you received lot’s of support writing this book?

CM: I believe I had support from plenty of people: family members, friends, people I met on the process of writing, publishing and promoting my book and fellow authors. I have all of them to thank for my first release – I couldn’t have done it without their support.

Name the last book you read that really moved you.

CM: I was amazed by “The power of now” written by Eckhart Tolle; as a matter a fact, I also answered above, this was the inspiration behind “The Eagle’s Journey”. I found Eckhart to be a very deep and spiritual author and I must say it was a captivating reading!

Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?

CM: There are many talented authors out there and I believe that everybody has strong points as we all have weak points. I try to absorb all the strengths from each book I read and each writer I meet in order to become a better man, author and person. I can’t name only one, as it wouldn’t be fair to the enormous pool of talented individuals and fellow authors.

am empowered by the quote “When I am, I don’t think; When I think, I am not here”. My point would be to do whatever makes you tick, whatever makes you happy. Even if you’ll encounter bumps on the way, enjoy the ride as it can offer you amazing moments.

What’s your guilty pleasure?

CM: I like to travel. I have visited many places from Europe and North America, but, I may say that I would love to visit Tibet as I find it unique and filled with deep spiritual impressions. I would come back fully energized and inspired from such a journey.

Tell me something that others would be surprised to know about you.

CM: I have a tendency towards literary arts and I have won at the age of 15 a poetry contest, “The Boy Who Sold Newspapers”. I also write musical pieces, my portfolio counting over 100, of which 8 registered on vinyl and CD.

Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

CM: To whoever reads this interview, my advice to you is to have confidence in your powers and to enjoy the journey wherever it may take you.

I couldn’t agree more! Can you share a little of your current work with us before you go?

CM: For the moment, I haven’t started writing another book, but I plan to do it soon enough. I will let you know when I will! We can do a follow up! J

Lol! Sounds good to me! Thank you so much for stoping by Carlos! 

 To find out more about Carlos, and The Eagle’s Journey visit the following links:

Website: http://www.carlosmartinezrobalino.com

Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/ca_martinez

Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/16275752-the-eagle-s-journey

Leave a Reply

