Olivia Linden interviews author Jana Pauldo in the Via Linden Lounge!

Today I get to chat with author, Jana Pauldo and discuss her controversial book Scared of Lonely.


Welcome Jana! Can you tell us about the message in Scared of Lonely?

Yes. After the readers finish reading Scared of Lonely I want them to understand that even though incest can be looked at in a negative aspect, consensual incest is apart of our reality just like other topics that aren’t discussed because they are considered disgusting to the world but just because they are disgusting doesn’t mean we avoid it. I want them to see the lesson and the positive outcome that comes out at the end.

With such a touchy subject, can you tell us the hardest part of writing this book?

The hardest part of writing Scared of Lonely was the synopsis.

Scared of Lonely Synopsis:
When nineteen year old Sharise Watkins becomes involved in a relationship with her brother, she finds herself being tormented by a mortal sin mentally, sexually, and emotionally. She is left with life-long damaging effects that destroy her inner soul causing her to reflect on her perception of reality, the loneliness she feels without love, and learning who to love. Scared of Lonely tells the story of a girl who is succumbed to temptation by incest, when her secrets are revealed, her quest for happiness is put at a screeching halt. Sharise becomes obsessed with being involved with her brother and by giving into the allure of temptation, she soon finds that she may be in too deep to be pulled up.

That is very deep. What else contributed to your inspiration for the title?
I came up with the title to my novel Scared of Lonely after listening to Beyoncé’s song with the same title off her, “I Am…Sasha Fierce” album. The title went perfectly with the topic I was addressing in the story.

Are the experiences in this story based on someone you know, or events in your own life?
Everyone suffers from some type of loneliness. I’ve met all kinds of people in my life who feel like they need companionship.

Is there a scene that stands out for you?
My favorite scene in my book is when Tisha and Roc are coming back from Florida and Sharise finds out about their love affair while their boarding the train with her daughter.

Can you describe your writing process?
Yes. I outline and research and then write my stories.

What books have most influenced your life most?
Joyce Meyer’s books have played a huge part in my life.

What kind of books do you read in your spare time?
Anything that peaks my interest.

Name the last book you read that really moved you.

The last book I read that really moved me was, “Battlefield of the Mind” by Joyce Meyer

Tell me something that others would be surprised to know about you.
I love watching Seinfeld and Family Guy. I think those are the best shows ever. And I also love Japanese music.

What’s your guilty pleasure?
Red velvet cake and Kenneth Cole purses.

Nice combo! 

Can you tell us what’s up next for you?

My current project is my second book and my first television show.

Whoa, a television show? You have to come back and talk more about that! Before you go, do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?
I just want to say thank you for supporting through the good and the bad. This has been an amazing journey and it is just really beginning. Thanks so much for reading my books. I wouldn’t have none of this without you all.

Thank you so much for stopping by Jana! Good luck on your upcoming projects!

You can learn more about Jana through the following links!

Website: http://www.janapauldo.weebly.com
Buy here: http://www.amazon.com/Scared-Lonely-Delphine-Publications-Presents/dp/0989090612/ref=sr_1_1_title_1_pap?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1370050271&sr=1-1&keywords=scared+of+lonely
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/janapauldo
Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/nicoleafterjana

3 thoughts on “Olivia Linden interviews author Jana Pauldo in the Via Linden Lounge!

  1. That was an amazing interview. All I can say is wow. What a concept. When I read about incest I was thinking it was a cousin, but it turned out to be a brother. Wow. I’m curious to see how it turns out.

Leave a Reply

