Olivia Linden interviews author Wayne Murphy!!

Today I’d like to welcome my buddy, Wayne Murphy to the lounge as he discusses his upcoming release Cerridwen Moon.

wayne m

 

Hi Wayne! Tell us a little about what makes you tick.

The older I get, the less things bother me.  I used to get annoyed at a lot of little things, but I have learned that it is much easier to just let things go, it makes me a lot happier.

Don’t worry, be happy… seems so simple! What inspired you to write your first book? A woman, isn’t that what inspires a lot of great works of art? Ooh, interesting….How did you come up with the title? Cerridwen is the name of the woman I wrote the book about What’s your favorite scene in your book? The end. Is there a message in your novel?  It is a non-fiction romance.  I guess the message would be that sometimes we go to great lengths for love.  Sometimes we have to sacrifice a lot, but if it is for the right person than it is worth it. Well, I hope it was worth it! If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book? I am still in the editing phase, so I am changing things all the time.  Once it is complete I hope that I don’t have to change too much.  I have changed a lot already, but it has enhanced the story.

What was the hardest part of writing your book?

 It is a true story, a lot of it was painful to write and recall some of the memories.

 Wow. That seems like a powerful story. Where there any other challenges (research, literary, psychological, and logistical) in bringing it to life?

Right now the challenge is just getting it published and getting the word out.  I believe in the story, I think it is interesting and something that people will enjoy as long as they know about it.

 Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it? I have learned a lot about marketing, and editing.  The whole process is long and arduous, but I know it will be worth it in the end.

Yes, my least favorite parts of being self-published. Do you have a specific writing style? I try to be honest and to the point, I try to connect with readers on a level that everyone can enjoy.

What books have most influenced your life most? I like Stephen King and I’ve also always enjoyed Edgar Allan Poe. Two of my faves! Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?   What kind of book do you read in your spare time?

I have been reading romance stories lately, some sci-fi, all independent authors. I read a lot of independent writers, there are so many great ones out there, too many to list.

So what’s up next for you? I am working on some poetry and short stories right now, and still working on getting ‘Cerridwen Moon’ published, it is my first novel.

Name your biggest supporter outside of family. My best friend John, I have known him for over 30 years.

Do you see writing as a career?   Yes, I have so many ideas, and I hope people enjoy reading my work as much as I enjoy creating it.

Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?   I would just like to say thank you for taking the time to read my work, I hope it is enjoyable, and if anyone has any questions please contact me.

What’s your guilty pleasure?

 I can’t tell you that I enjoy watching the show Glee, oops, I just told you!

LOL!! That’s not too bad… Tell me something that others would be surprised to know about you. Very often I follow a routine.  I like things in order.  A place for everything, everything in it’s place.  I sometimes get thrown off a bit if things are out of place.

Can you share a little of your current work with us?

*****

“Yeah, well there is just one thing,” I said, proceeding with caution.

“What’s that,” Johnny kind of chuckled because he knew that some of my past relationships were not so great.

“Well, she lives in Australia.”

“What!” He exclaimed.

“Well, yeah she lives in Australia.”

“And what you are just going to go overthere and meet her?”

“Well, yeah.  I would like to one of these days.”

“Uh-huh,” said Johnny as he grinned.  “What are you crazy?”

“I really like her, you know, and she is really a wonderful woman.  We talk everyday and we are really getting to know each other.”

“Well, that’s all well and good, but you can’t be serious about thinking about meeting her?”

“Well yeah.  I mean, you know, I have been trying to sell the business and once I do that I can pay off all my debt and have some money left over to do some traveling.”

“I don’t know Wayne.  Couldn’t you have met someone who lives a bit closer?”

“Well, yeah I guess I could have and when I first got on eHarmony I was only limiting my search to the states, but I wasn’t getting any profiles that I matched up with.  I don’t know, it’s not like I was expecting to meet someone half way across the world, but I did.  I mean, I think it is naive to think that the person we are supposed to be with lives right next door to us.  So, I had expanded my search area and I met Cerridwen.”

“Yeah, well I guess, but the whole thing sounds a little crazy to me.”

“Yeah, well…”

“And what is her name?”

“Cerridwen.”

“That is an interesting name.”

“Yeah she was named after one of the Greek Goddesses, she is a symbol of rebirth and renewal.”

“Interesting.  So, you talk to her on the computer?”

“Yeah we have headsets and web cams and we use Yahoo Instant Messenger to talk.  This way I can call her computer from my computer and we can see and hear each other.  It is just like being on the phone, but it is free.”

“Really?  And how often do you talk to her.”

“Everyday, four or five hours a day.”

“You talk to her for four or five hours a day?”

“Yeah.”

“I don’t know Wayne,” said Johnny as he shook his head slightly.

“Wayne, you’re not really going to go over to Australia to meet this woman are you?”  asked Johnny’s wife Rose.  She had been standing a few feet away at the stove making dinner while Johnny and I were talking so she had heard the whole conversation.

“I know she is a long ways away, and that is the one draw back that we have, but Rose since I have met her I have been so happy, and she really is a wonderful woman.  We talk everyday and we really have a great time.  We are really getting to know each other, and I am really starting to fall for her.”

Johnny piped in, “so did you tell her that you love her yet?”

“No, I haven’t”

“Are you sure?”

“Yes, I am sure.“ I laughed.

I had not yet told Cerridwen that I loved her, but I had definitely thought about telling her more than a few times already.  I was falling hard and fast, I just hoped that she was there to catch me when I finally did decide to take that leap.

Ooh! I can’t wait for the rest! Thanks so much for sharing Wayne!

Wayne L Murphy is included in a poetry anthology that was just released in June 2013 titled ‘Whispers, Shouts, and Songs’. He will also be include in a collection of short stories to be released on July 4th titled ‘Summer Shorts’. Currently he is continuing to work on his first novel, ‘Cerridwen Moon’. Check Wayne’s blog for all his latest updates!

A haiku from ‘Whispers, Shouts, and Songs’… 

(“Haiku for Homer”)

A fresh batch rises sweet aromas fill the air Homer laughs softly

Wayne L Murphy 4/1/13

About the author…

Wayne L Murphy was born in Mt. Kisco, NY. He grew up in Dutchess County and now lives in Catskill, NY. Wayne continues to work on his first novel, ‘Cerridwen Moon’. He hopes to have it published in 2013. He also has numerous other works in progress. Wayne played soccer for 28 years, and has coached several boys and girl’s teams. He is also a fan of NY sports teams. Wayne earned his Associate’s Degree from Dutchess Community College in Poughkeepsie, NY. Wayne has owned his own business twice in the past. In his spare time he likes to work around his house, play video games, ride his motorcycle, and travel. He also enjoys movies and live music. One of his favorite places to visit is the Upper East Side of Manhattan. Some of his favorite authors include Stephen King and Edgar Allan Poe. Wayne enjoys a simple, peaceful, and positive life. He has one brother, one sister, and two wonderful nieces.

“I have been writing since about age 13, it has always been a personal pleasure of mine. Trying to get my first book published has been a big step for me. I have always enjoyed writing, whether it is a poem, a song, or a short story. I am eager to share my work and I hope that people enjoy reading it as much as I enjoyed writing it.”

Whispers, Shouts, and Songs’ Poetry Anthology

Amazon eBook: http://www.amazon.com/Whispers-Shouts-Songs-Independent-ebook/dp/B00D47QIT8/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1371684067&sr=8-1&keywords=whispers%2C+shouts%2C+and+songs

Amazon print version: http://www.amazon.com/Whispers-Shouts-Songs-Exploring-Independent/dp/1490354069/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&qid=1371684067&sr=8-2&keywords=whispers%2C+shouts%2C+and+songs

Smashwords (9 different formats): https://www.smashwords.com/books/view/321399

To learn more about Wayne, visit the following links

Blog: http://waynelmurphy.blogspot.com/

Facebook Fan Page: https://www.facebook.com/waynelmurphy

Twitter: https://twitter.com/WayneLMurphy

 

5 thoughts on “Olivia Linden interviews author Wayne Murphy!!

  1. Hi Olivia! I’m excited to read Wayne’s book! I think I will relate, I live in the Philippines and my boyfriend is in Sydney. He travels a lot to see me, it’s hard but we manage. Oooh… Let me just give Wayne a little nudge and maybe I can share some of our struggles… Great site, too! Congratulations!

Leave a Reply

