Olivia Linden interviews author E.D. Brady!

Today author E. D. Brady stops by the Via Linden Lounge to discuss Remembered (The Vistira Trilogy: Book 1)



Let’s start with a little about you. What makes you tick?

My family, good stories, and walks by the lake with my dog. Oh, and food. I’m a savage when it comes to food.

Ok, we have a foodie on our hands!

What books have most influenced your life most?

The first book series I ever read was the Chronicles of Narnia at the age of nine. I remember being blown away by those books. At the age of fourteen, I wanted to live in Middle earth, and as a fully grown adult with kids, I wanted to attend Hogwarts. I guess you could say that the real world doesn’t hold that much interest for me.

Are there any new authors that have grasped your interest?

I have loved the “Beyond the Eyes” series by Rebekka Ford so far, and I’m patiently awaiting number three in her series. I recently read ‘Metal Urge’ by E. D. Wilbourn and loved it. Again, I can’t wait for the follow-up. I’m given a lot of books to read recently and have loved all of them.

What inspired you to write your first book?

I was cleaning my house one day and the story just came to me. It was strange because I’d never considered writing a book before.

How did you come up with the titles of your trilogy?

The three books in my trilogy are Remembered, Reclaimed and Returned. I liked the way the titles flowed together, yet they really do pertain to the stories.

What’s your favorite scene in Remembered?

When my main character is reunited with her family who had thought she was dead.

Are any of the experiences based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

My trilogy is purely fantasy. As much as I love being a wife and mom, my life is nowhere near as interesting as my character’s.

What were the challenges (research, literary, psychological, and logistical) in bringing it to life?

I think the biggest challenge was finding the time. I would wake up in the morning with one or two ideas and couldn’t get to the computer on time to write them down while they were still fresh.

What was the hardest part of writing your book?

Can I say editing? I really, really hate editing.

Did you learn anything from writing your book and what was it?

That I really love writing, which I never knew about myself.

Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

There is a strong message of true love and family. I think the message would be that as nice as wealth and luxury are, there is something more comforting in substantial and strong relationships

If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?

I don’t really think I would.

What are your current/future projects?

I’m currently working on a YA book which could turn into a series, though I’m not sure yet.

Name your biggest source of support outside of family members.

I’ve had the same small group of best friends since the fifth grade (many, many years). We have been through marriages, divorces, babies, you name it, together. I feel very fortunate and blessed to have shared my entire life with these women.

Do you see writing as a career?

Apart from being a mom, it’s really the only career I have, if you could call it tha

What’s your guilty pleasure?

Oh that’s easy, books, red wine and food.

What kind of book do you read in your spare time?

Mostly paranormal romance and fantasy.

Tell me something that others would be surprised to know about you.

This is gross, but you asked. I have a patch of thick, dark hair on my back, about the size of a silver dollar. It’s some kind of funky birthmark.

Name the last book you read that really moved you.

I loved, loved, loved “Lover At Last” by J. D. Ward. I’ll admit that I was a misty-eyed mess at the end of that.

So, what’s up next for you?

I’m writing a young adult novel that will incorporate some age appropriate romance with a little history of the early American settlers (who knows, Christopher Columbus himself might even show up).

Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

First of all, I’d like to say a great, big “Thank you”. I’m still floored when someone reads my book and comments that they enjoyed it. It’s really a humbling experience. Secondly, I like to say that I hope my story can take them away somewhere for a little while (like a mini vacation).

E.D. it’s been a pleasure! Thanks for stopping by!

For more about E.D. and her books visit the following links:

Website: http://www.edbrady.net

Buy here: http://amzn.com/B00AP83YGO

Facebook: facebook.com/edbradyvistira

Twitter: @E_D_Brady

2 thoughts on “Olivia Linden interviews author E.D. Brady!

  1. Great interview! I’ve read Remembered by E.D. Brady and it’s a wonderful book. I’m looking forward to reading the next one soon. *smiles and waves to E.D.*

Leave a Reply

