Olivia Linden interviews author of Dreaming of Laughing Hawk: Linda Katmarian

Today author Linda Katmarian swings by to discuss her latest book:  Dreaming of Laughing Hawk

Tell us about Laughing Hawk.

Laughing Hawk is one of the main characters and his presence directs a lot of the action in the story. Elizabeth could not have imagined a life without him and I could not imagine a book without him.

Is there a message in Dreaming of Laughing Hawk that you want readers to grasp?

There are a couple of messages.

  • Anybody who wants something bad enough will risk their life or their soul—for power, for love, or for something greater than themselves.
  • There’s always somebody who wants to take your life away.

Do you have favorite scene? 

I like the bar scene with Laughing Hawk and his uncle Killer in which they are propositioned by a hooker in an LA bar. It is very revealing of Hawk’s personality.

Are these experiences in this story based on someone you know, or events in your own life?

Life experiences can’t help but inform one’s writing and pieces of myself exist in every character, but the story and the characters stand on their own. It is not my story.

Have any books influenced your life?

The first books that influenced me were King Arthur’s Knights of the Round Table and Treasure Island. Those were my father’s recommendations when I was 7 years old. They were difficult to read, especially King Arthur, because the vocabulary was so above my reading level, but I loved those books just the same. Later on I fell in love with many other books, but I certainly remember Gone With the Wind and The Thornbirds. I love the works of Graham Greene and Louise Erdrich. I adore Janet Fitch’s White Oleander. Although I read a wide variety of things, my tastes tend to run to the lyrical, the romantic, and the adventurous.

What was the hardest part of writing your book?

Self-discipline and the long, hard slog of learning craft.

What kind of book do you read in your spare time? 

Anything and everything, although I tend to exclude fantasy and sci-fi. I read fiction and nonfiction.

What inspired you to write your first book?

I was always an avid reader from the time I was a little kid so writing always seemed to be a perfectly natural ambition. The inspiration for my first book was a character who showed up, Laughing Hawk, and hopped into the story. I just tried to follow him around and take notes.

What makes you tick? 

Creativity. Whether it’s painting, gardening, baking a cake, making a baby or writing a book, it’s all about creativity.

Thank you so much for stopping by Linda!!

Dreaming of Laughing Hawk ebook is FREE June 20 & 21 on Amazon.

You can learn more about Linda and her books at the following sites:

Website: http://www.lindakatmarian.com

Blog: http://www.scheherazade-thewritinglife.blogspot.com/

Buy here: http://www.amazon.com/Dreaming-of-Laughing-Hawk-ebook/dp/B00B2NWZRK/

Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/authorlindakatmarian

Twitter: http://twitter.com/LindaKatmarian

Other: http://www.pinterest.com/lkatmarian

5 thoughts on “Olivia Linden interviews author of Dreaming of Laughing Hawk: Linda Katmarian

Leave a Reply

