Olivia Linden interviews author Chantal Bellehumeur!

Today I get to chat with Chantal Bellehumer and discuss her latest book  Sdrawkcab.

Alright Chantal, I have to ask this first. How did you come up with that title?
Sdrawkcab is actually the word backwards in reverse.   I want to mention  my title “Just.Another.Common.Killer” as well because it has a special meaning too.  If you look at the first letters of each word it spells Jack.  A friend of mine thought of this and I decided to use it for my story since it is highly based on Jack the Ripper.

Where there any of your real life experiences that contributed to this story?
Not this particular story.  I woke up from a strange dream and felt the need to write it down.  The next thing I knew I had an outline for a story and my son was very interested so I wrote the novel using his continuous input.  The short stories I have been writing for The Suburban Online magazine are highly based on myself.  The first one was based on my own pregnancy, and I used notes from my trips and random childhood memories to write the others.

Wow! Was it difficult to pull it all together?

Writing ideas is always fun.  Revising and editing give me headaches.  lol

Oy! I have yet to hear anyone say they like the editing process!
Besides the dreaded ‘E’ word, tell us about the challenges (research, literary, psychological, and logistical) in bringing this story to life?

For “Sdsrawkcab” I did basic research on mythological creatures and such but mostly just used my imagination (and my son’s).  For my horror novel “Just.Another.Common.Killer” I researched Jack the Ripper suspects and read a lot about the White Chapel murders.  I also did a bit of research on serial killers in general, torturing devices and other gory things like that.

 Pretty gory stuff!!Was there a scene that stood out most for you?

I don’t want to give anything away.  😉

Lol! Ok well tell us anything you may have learned from writing, or Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

No.  I just invented a world for the fun of it.  Actually I wrote the book for my son, who helped me with this project.

 If you had to do it all over again, would you change anything in your latest book?


I am pretty satisfied with the story.  I guess there is always room for improvement though.  I often hesitate before handing in a final product, thinking I might think of more stuff to add to the story later.

Well now lets go ‘backwards’ lol. Tell us a few of your guilty pleasures.

Chocolate and lip balm!  (I also own a lot of shoes.)

Yes to the shoes!!

What makes you tick or ticks you off?

Critics who find the need to bring authors down rather than appreciate the stories we write.

I agree. There’s a thin line between constructive criticism and negativity!

What kind of books do you like to read in your spare time?

Usually mysteries or horror.  Sometimes I will read a girly book.

That’s an interesting mix 🙂 tell me about the last book you read that really moved you.
“Black Diamond” by Jenifer Loiske.  She sent me a signed copy of her book and, although I had writing to do, I started reading it and could not put it down.  It was a very interesting read.  I highly recommend it if you like paranormal stories.

Thanks, I will have to check that one out. How did you come to writing your first book?
I’ve been writing since I was a child, but never thought about publishing anything until somebody told me I should.  This was after writing a novel that started off while I was upset at a guy.  lol

Lol! Men 😉
Would you say that you have a specific writing style?
No.  I write a bit of everything.  Aside from fantasy, I wrote a horror novel, romance books, a compilation of mysterious short stories, and a book based on my health problem.  I also write family oriented short stories for The Suburban Online Magazine.

Have any authors or books have most influenced your life most?
I used to really be into Shakespeare.

Me too!
Have any new authors that have grasped your interest?

There are a lot of talented authors out there!

Boy! You don’t give much away! lol

Well, then tell me about your current/future projects

Short stories for The Suburban Online Magazine.  My short story “A Mother’s Love” was published in the April 26 2013 issue and “A Father’s Promise” will be published in June. I continued writing about the same characters.  I am currently in the process of writing “An Unplanned Wedding” (for July publishing) as well as “Emily’s Birthday Getaway” (for August publishing)

Outside of family members, name one entity that you feel supported you
My friends have always been very supportive.  If I had to single one particular person out, it would be my current boyfriend, Chris Black.

Is writing your career?

I do it more as a hobby, but you never know.

Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?
Writing a review for an author is like giving a tip to your waiter; it shows appreciation for a job well done. If you enjoyed reading my books, please take the time to post a review.  You can find me on Goodreads.

I couldn’t agree more!
Tell me something that others would be surprised to know about you.
Those who don’t know me very well are always shocked when they find out that I am a Halloween freak and love to morph my apartment into a haunted home every October.

Tell us about your body of work.

I published seven novels, which are all available to purchase on Amazon sites as well as the Rosedog Online Bookstore.  Titles include fictional diaries
“Veronica’s Soap Opera Life”, “Veronica’s Attempt at Romance”, “Veronica’s Happily Ever After” horror novel “Just.Another.Common.Killer”, fantasy novel Sdrawkcab , mystery book “Thirteen-A Compilation of Short Stories”, and “Hope”.  I don’t like to talk much about that last one.  I just wrote it because I was desperate to make people understand what it was like to live with Colitis after I was diagnosed.

I recently started writing short stories for the Suburban Online Magazine.

Thanks so much for stopping by Chantal! It’s been a pleasure 🙂

You can find out more about Chantal and her books at:

Website:  http://www.wix.com/chantalbellehumeur/me

Buy here:
Here is the direct link to my US Amazon Author page, where you can also buy my books.
http://www.amazon.com/Chantal-Bellehumeur/e/B008YX5YGK/ref=ntt_athr_dp_pel_pop_1
Here is the direct link to the Canada Amazon page, where you can buy my books.
http://www.amazon.ca/Books/s?ie=UTF8&field-author=Chantal%20Bellehumeur&page=1&rh=n%3A916520%2Cp_27%3AChantal%20Bellehumeur
Here is the direct link to my UK Amazon Author page, where you can also buy my books.
http://www.amazon.co.uk/Chantal-Bellehumeur/e/B008YX5YGK
Facebook:
https://www.facebook.com/pages/Chantal-Bellehumeur-public-author-page/347446362035640

Goodreads:
Here is the direct link to my Goodreads Author account.  Please post reviews.
http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/4538804.Chantal_Bellehumeur

For those who want to read my short story A Mother’s Love for FREE, published in The Suburban Online Magazine, April 26 issue.
www.thesuburban .com

One thought on “Olivia Linden interviews author Chantal Bellehumeur!

  1. Pingback: My Homepage

Leave a Reply

