» RINC Giveaway by Olivia Linden

» Giveaway by Olivia Linden.

Here’s my giveaway featured on Romancenovelsincolor.com

RNIC is delighted to have Author Olivia Linden stop by and tell us about her latest release, Jaded Hearts, but first, let’s get to know our featured author.

Tell us about yourself. 

About me…  I’m the oldest of 4 children, 2 boys 2 girls, to Jamaican parents. I was born and mostly raised in New York, but I spent eight years of my childhood in Texas, so I’m a lil bit country, and a lil bit rock-n-roll too! I love to read. I love books. Reading from a young age shaped the creative bend of my imagination. Writing comes second to reading for me, but it always surprises me when I get compliments on my writing. When something is so second nature, you don’t realize you’re doing anything special. I’m also the proud mother of a 10 year-old tween. He’s a gem and I have to put up with him because he looks and acts just like me. Except, he’s a lot nicer! 

What do you do for fun? 

Fun… I try to make fun out of everyday events, but I love to dance, and I like games (Pool, bowling, blackjack).

When is your favorite time of the day to make love?

Anytime I am awake 🙂

  What are your favorite types of movies to watch?

I’ve turned into such a girlie girl lately! I love romantic comedies, and good comedies in general. I also like movies with dark dramatic elements Some of my faves: Love Jones, Brown Sugar, Pulp Fiction, The Notebook, Hitch, Groundhog Day, Pretty Woman, The Shining (crazy, I know!) Coming to America

Which TV show(s) can you absolutely not miss every week?

SCANDAL! And I have no clue what to do with myself in the off season. Honorable mention to Game of Thrones!

Finish this sentence: You gotta love a man who… Knows what it means to be a MAN!

Short answer choices:

Leather or lace?

Lace

Long or short hair?

Long

Fruity drink or strong liquor?

Pass the Courvoisier!

Heels or flats?

Heels!!!

Jeans or skirt? 

Ooh, tough one…Jeans

Coffee or tea?

Cafe con Leche!

Glamorous girl or girl next door?

Sexy girl next door

Picky eater or adventurous?  

Picky Adventurer! lol

Glamorous makeup or au naturale?

I prefer the natural look

Sexy bed-head or sophisticated coif?

Sexy bed-head all day!

Olivia, what adjectives would your close friends use to describe you?

Ha! Argumentative, intellectual, humble, loving, stylish, outgoing, dominant, sympathetic (with reason only) wild and shy! I actually asked. Is that cheating?

Yes or no: Does size matter?

It shouldn’t, but…

What is your greatest accomplishment as an author so far?

Actually self-publishing my own book. Eight months prior to that, I wasn’t even in writers mode. Then I caught the bug and wrote the book that had been waiting for over five years.

What was the nicest comment or most interesting question you’ve received from a reader?

That she loved my book so much, she didn’t know where to begin with her review. Every time someone says they love my book, it feels like the first person who said they loved it. No matter how many times I hear it, I always appreciate it. It’s not a given that other people will love it too. 



Blurb

The Players

Jade– Heads to New York to start fresh after a broken engagement Julian– A sexy Cuban playboy who falls hard for Jade’s “innocence” John– A handsome successful attorney who falls even harder, but remains a loyal friend in her time of need. Vivian– Jade’s aunt, she offers the opportunity of a lifetime, but holds a dark secret. Jackie– Her naïve cousin and confidant.

The Recipe

1 Love Triangle

1 Confused and guarded heroine

1 Over zealous protagonist

1 Betrayal

1 Family secret

1 Event that changes everything

So you have a not so classic love triangle, with a hint of mystery. What could possibly be the problem? Jade doesn’t believe in love, and lives by denial. Being abandoned by her mother at a young age has left her with a hard shell around her heart, and an even harder time letting her feelings show. As she tries to find herself through her new relationships, Jade learns the hard way that sometimes intentions mean everything, and nothing at all. Will she find love or will she leave a trail of jaded hearts? Love, secrets, and lies are all on the menu. Jaded Hearts is Edgy, funny, and sexy!

Excerpt:

I arrived at our meeting place first and grabbed a table by the window so that I could people watch. New York was filled with so many different characters that you never knew what to expect. I was enjoying the spectacle of an older couple arguing as they gradually moseyed down the block. The wife was definitely not pleased with her husband and would jab him with her cane periodically throughout their conversation.

“You know that’s an invasion of privacy.” John whispered in my ear.

I laughed involuntarily because I did feel like a peeping tom.

“Busted! Now that you’ve uncovered my voyeuristic tendencies, what are you going to do?”

He flashed a toothy grin.

“Get you some binoculars!”

The woman at the table behind me chuckled causing us both to burst out in laughter. I studied his tall muscular body covered by a fitted gray sleeveless T-shirt and matching gym shorts. This was the first time I had seen him without a suit on and I couldn’t decide how I liked him better. His hair was casually slicked back making him look even younger than his thirty years of age. He sat down putting his blackberry on the table and grabbing a menu.

“You look like the blackberry type,” I flirted.

He peered at me over the top of his menu raising an eyebrow in question.

“I hope you plan on explaining what the blackberry type looks like. I need to know this in case I ever have to go incognito. Can’t have my damn phone giving me away.”

And he is Funny!

“Well, you know, the one handed user, so you need a phone with buttons.” I teased.

This time he raised both eyebrows and put his menu down.

“Can I please get clarification on the ‘one handed user’ segment of that last statement? I don’t want to jump to any conclusions, but I’m beginning to think that you have a filthy little mind over there,” he joked.

I narrowed my eyes in mock anger.

“Excuse me sir, I believe there is only one filthy mind at this table and it is not mine.”

He picked his menu back up.

“The lady doth protest too much methinks…”

I tried to repress my giggle as I continued my defense.

“Will you be buying me a new pair of binoculars or letting me borrow your own?”

He leaned back in his chair pulling the menu back up over his eyes.

“I plead the 5th.”

I imitated him leaning back to study my own menu.

“Uh huh. Just like a lawyer.”

The woman behind me chuckled again.

Buy it now: Amazon | BN | Kobo

***

Here’s the info on the giveaway!

Prizes: One e-copy or print copy of Jaded Hearts

Eligibility: You must be a subscriber to the RNIC newsletter.

How to enter: Leave a comment or a question below (you do not have to include your email address).

Deadline to enter: You must enter by 8:00 p.m EST on June 6, 2013. One winner will be selected.


Note: By participating in this contest, the winner has given permission to RNIC to share his/her name and email address with the person conducting the contest so they can forward the prize(s). 

  Olivia, how can readers contact you?

Website Twitter Facebook Blog Goodreads

    Olivia Linden

About the Author


Olivia Linden was born in Queens, raised in San Antonio, TX. Reading and writing were her passions from a very young age. At the age of 7, she submitted her first short story as a class assignment, and that sparked her to explore her writing talents. Initially, she had dreams of becoming a teacher when she grew up, but the twist and turns of life brought her right back to writing. Currently living in Florida with her 10 year-old tween-age son, she has decided it’s time to return to writing. Olivia’s writing style takes after her personality in a big way. Her sometimes sarcastic, and usually humorous tone comes across in her stories. In reality, she prefers to laugh her way through even the toughest of situations. Life has taught her that laughing helps to heal faster.   “You can cry and complain, but no one really wants to see that.”

Leave a Reply

